On January 1, 2014, a new Oregon law, Senate Bill 721, will take effect. This law affects all sports league coaches (including managers), league governing bodies, nonschool athletic teams (which are teams with persons under age 18 and not affiliated with a public school in Oregon), and referee governing bodies and referees.
The law mandates that each league governing body and each referee governing body must ensure that the coaches, managers and referees “receive annual training to learn how to recognize the symptoms of a concussion and how to seek proper medical treatment for a person suspected of having a concussion,” and follow certain guidelines when a concussion is suspected. “Training to learn how to recognize the symptoms of a concussion and how to seek proper medical treatment for a person suspected of having a concussion” is now required annually.
Also, a coach or a manager may not allow a minor to participate if a minor player exhibits signs, symptoms or behaviors consistent with a concussion following an observed or suspected blow to the head or body, or has been diagnosed with a concussion. The player must not be allowed to participate until at least one day after the player experienced a blow to the head or body and only after the member no longer exhibits signs, symptoms, or behaviors consistent with a concussion, and after the player receives a medical release from a health care professional.
Senate Bill 721 also states that “a referee may not allow a member of a non-school athletic team to participate in any athletic event during which the member exhibited signs, symptoms or behaviors consistent with a concussion following an observed or suspected blow to the head or body.” Please assist the referee by supporting them in the execution of the requirements of SB 721.
SB 721 requires that your league supply you and at least one parent or legal guardian with guidelines and materials to inform and educate you and your parents or legal guardians about the symptoms and warning signs of a concussion.
For each year of participation, and prior to a person under 18 years of age participating in any of our affiliated leagues, at least one parent or legal guardian must acknowledge the receipt of the guidelines and materials and must confirm the review of those guidelines and materials by:
- The parent or legal guardian of the person; and
- If the person is 12 years of age or older, the person.
I agree that my child must be removed from practice/play if a concussion is suspected and that it is my responsibility to seek medical treatment if a suspected concussion is reported to me. I understand that my child cannot return to practice/play until providing written clearance from an appropriate health care provider to his/her coach or team manager and I understand the possible consequences of my child returning to practice/play too soon.
I have received and reviewed the guidelines and materials regarding the warning signs of a concussion. I understand the importance of reporting a suspected concussion to my coaches and my parents/guardian and that I must be removed from practice/play if a concussion is suspected. I understand that I must provide written clearance from an appropriate health care provider to my coach or team manager before returning to practice/play and I understand the possible consequences of returning to practice/play too soon and that my brain needs time to heal.Links:
Medicine of Cycling: Concussions in Cyclists
Concussions in Cyclists for Team Managers and Coaches http://www.obra.org/pdfs/cs_teams_coaches.pdf The Centers for Disease Control: Concussions in Sports
Facts about Concussion and Brain Injury