Selling concerns

Ron Magnus

2004-01-07



Most likely this is a scam. Be very careful but this ruse has been used

many times in the past and as a matter of fact I think Mark Ginsberg

cautioned soemone else on this list about the very same risks.



Bottom line.....if it seems too good to be true, it is.



Ron Magnus

Portland, OR



On Wed, 7 Jan 2004, Bonnie Heather Egilson wrote:



 Has anyone out there ever sold a bike to someone overseas?? I have my bike posted on a couple of websites like www.mtbreview.com www.pinkbike.com and www.nsmb.com ,anyway the responses I have gotten are all from other countries. One from Germany, one from South Africa and the most serious one from France. This guy is a used bike and accessory dealer. The problem is that although I am asking $1300 for the bike (Rocky Mountain Element TO) the guy wants to send a cashier's check for $7,000 and wants me to do a western union thing to the shipper for the remaining monies. To me this doesn't sound legal?? Weird to say the least and how and what hoops must one go through to send a bike to France.? You can reply to my e mail if you have any incite on this issue. bon-@egilson.com



To respond to the whole group send to ob-@topica.com.

To respond to the list manager send to ob-@teleport.com

To unsubscribe send to obra-uns-@topica.com



mike.m-@obra.org

2004-01-07



This is a classic Internet scam. Generally the seller overpays and wants

you to refund the balance to him. The cashier's check ends up being bogus.

It is easy to think that the check is OK because of the amount of time it

may take to clear. The mere fact that your account gets credited is NOT

evidence that the check has cleared. You are out the difference and your

bike, or what ever, is gone. Be very suspect of any such transaction. Do

not do anything until you have hard cash in hand. Never send them any of

your money.



Here are some links. There are lots of examples:

http://www.waypointbank.com/about_waypoint/protect_yourself_from_internet_sc

ams.php

http://www.dropbears.com/bikelinks/africa_scam.htm

http://www.wpbpolice.org/scam-nigeria-newtwist.php

http://www.ama-cycle.org/news/2003/scams.asp

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/low/uk_news/scotland/3071895.stm



Mike Murray

-----Original Message-----

From: Bonnie Heather Egilson [mailto:bon.-@verizon.net]

Sent: Wednesday, January 07, 2004 13:29 PM

To: Obra

Subject: [OBRA Chat] Selling concerns





Has anyone out there ever sold a bike to someone overseas?? I have my bike

posted on a couple of websites like www.mtbreview.com www.pinkbike.com and

www.nsmb.com ,anyway the responses I have gotten are all from other

countries. One from Germany, one from South Africa and the most serious one

from France. This guy is a used bike and accessory dealer. The problem is

that although I am asking $1300 for the bike (Rocky Mountain Element TO) the

guy wants to send a cashier's check for $7,000 and wants me to do a western

union thing to the shipper for the remaining monies. To me this doesn't

sound legal?? Weird to say the least and how and what hoops must one go

through to send a bike to France.? You can reply to my e mail if you have

any incite on this issue. bon-@egilson.com

To respond to the whole group send to ob-@topica.com.

To respond to the list manager send to ob-@teleport.com

To unsubscribe send to obra-uns-@topica.com



Bruce Harmon

2004-01-07



 This message is in MIME format. Since your mail reader does not understand

this format, some or all of this message may not be legible.



--B_3156335849_90770

Content-type: text/plain; charset="US-ASCII"

Content-transfer-encoding: 7bit



Bonnie:





This is a scam. They tried it on me when I tried to sell my old Porsche.

Stay away from this like crazy!



 Bruce

--

Bruce Harmon

Team Rose City

2801 NW Skyline Drive

Corvallis, Oregon 97330-3169

Ph: 541-754-7613

Fax: 541-757-2597



From: Bonnie Heather Egilson <bon.-@verizon.net>

 Reply-To: bon.-@verizon.net

Date: Wed, 7 Jan 2004 13:28:34 -0800

To: Obra <ob-@topica.com>

Subject: [OBRA Chat] Selling concerns



 Has anyone out there ever sold a bike to someone overseas?? I have my bike

posted on a couple of websites like www.mtbreview.com

<http://www.mtbreview.com> www.pinkbike.com <http://www.pinkbike.com>   and

www.nsmb.com <http://www.nsmb.com> ,anyway the responses I have gotten are

all from other countries. One from Germany, one from South Africa and the most

serious one from France. This guy is a used bike and accessory dealer. The

problem is that although I am asking $1300 for the bike (Rocky Mountain

Element TO) the guy wants to send a cashier's check for $7,000 and wants me to

do a western union thing to the shipper for the remaining monies. To me this

doesn't sound legal?? Weird to say the least and how and what hoops must one

go through to send a bike to France.? You can reply to my e mail if you have

any incite on this issue. bon-@egilson.com

To respond to the whole group send to ob-@topica.com.

To respond to the list manager send to ob-@teleport.com

To unsubscribe send to obra-uns-@topica.com







--B_3156335849_90770

Content-type: text/html; charset="US-ASCII"

Content-transfer-encoding: 8bit



<HTML>

<HEAD>

<TITLE>Re: [OBRA Chat] Selling concerns</TITLE>

</HEAD>

<BODY>

<FONT FACE="Arial">Bonnie:<BR>

<BR>

<BR>

This is a scam. They tried it on me when I tried to sell my old Porsche. Stay away from this like crazy!<BR>

<BR>

</FONT><BLOCKQUOTE><FONT FACE="Arial">Bruce <BR>

</FONT></BLOCKQUOTE><FONT FACE="Arial">-- <BR>

Bruce Harmon<BR>

Team Rose City<BR>

2801 NW Skyline Drive<BR>

Corvallis, Oregon 97330-3169<BR>

Ph: 541-754-7613<BR>

Fax: 541-757-2597<BR>

<BR>

<B>From: </B>Bonnie Heather Egilson <bon.-@verizon.net><BR>

</FONT><BLOCKQUOTE><FONT FACE="Arial"><B>Reply-To: </B>bon.-@verizon.net<BR>

<B>Date: </B>Wed, 7 Jan 2004 13:28:34 -0800<BR>

<B>To: </B>Obra <ob-@topica.com><BR>

<B>Subject: </B>[OBRA Chat] Selling concerns<BR>

<BR>

</FONT></BLOCKQUOTE><FONT FACE="Arial"><BR>

</FONT><BLOCKQUOTE><FONT FACE="Comic Sans MS">Has anyone out there ever sold a bike to someone overseas??  I have my bike posted on a couple of websites like www.mtbreview.com <http://www.mtbreview.com&gt;  www.pinkbike.com <http://www.pinkbike.com>   and www.nsmb.com <http://www.nsmb.com>  ,anyway the responses I have gotten are all from other countries. One from Germany, one from South Africa and the most serious one from France. This guy is a used bike and accessory dealer. The problem is that although I am asking $1300 for the bike (Rocky Mountain Element TO) the guy wants to send a cashier's check for $7,000 and wants me to do a western union thing to the shipper for the remaining monies.  To me this doesn't sound legal?? Weird to say the least and how and what hoops must one go through to send a bike to France.?  You can reply to my e mail if you have any incite on this issue.  bon-@egilson.com<BR>

</FONT><FONT FACE="Arial">To respond to the whole group send to ob-@topica.com.<BR>

To respond to the list manager send to ob-@teleport.com<BR>

To unsubscribe send to obra-uns-@topica.com<BR>

<BR>

</FONT></BLOCKQUOTE><FONT FACE="Arial"><BR>

</FONT>

</BODY>

</HTML>





--B_3156335849_90770--



Bonnie Heather Egilson

2004-01-07



This is a multi-part message in MIME format.



------=_NextPart_000_002F_01C3D522.263B7120

Content-Type: text/plain;

charset="iso-8859-1"

Content-Transfer-Encoding: 8bit



Has anyone out there ever sold a bike to someone overseas?? I have my bike posted on a couple of websites like www.mtbreview.com www.pinkbike.com and www.nsmb.com ,anyway the responses I have gotten are all from other countries. One from Germany, one from South Africa and the most serious one from France. This guy is a used bike and accessory dealer. The problem is that although I am asking $1300 for the bike (Rocky Mountain Element TO) the guy wants to send a cashier's check for $7,000 and wants me to do a western union thing to the shipper for the remaining monies. To me this doesn't sound legal?? Weird to say the least and how and what hoops must one go through to send a bike to France.? You can reply to my e mail if you have any incite on this issue. bon-@egilson.com

------=_NextPart_000_002F_01C3D522.263B7120

Content-Type: text/html;

charset="iso-8859-1"

Content-Transfer-Encoding: 8bit



<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.0 Transitional//EN">

<HTML><HEAD>

<META http-equiv=Content-Type content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1">

<META content="MSHTML 6.00.2800.1264" name=GENERATOR>

<STYLE></STYLE>

</HEAD>

<BODY bgColor=#ffffff>

<DIV><FONT face="Comic Sans MS">Has anyone out there ever sold a bike to someone

overseas??  I have my bike posted on a couple of websites like <A

href="http://www.mtbreview.com">www.mtbreview.com</A> <A

href="http://www.pinkbike.com">www.pinkbike.com</A>  and <A

href="http://www.nsmb.com">www.nsmb.com</A> ,anyway the responses I have gotten

are all from other countries. One from Germany, one from South Africa and the

most serious one from France. This guy is a used bike and accessory

dealer. The problem is that although I am asking $1300 for the bike (Rocky

Mountain Element TO) the guy wants to send a cashier's check for $7,000 and

wants me to do a western union thing to the shipper for the remaining

monies.  To me this doesn't sound legal?? Weird to say the least and how

and what hoops must one go through to send a bike to France.?  You can

reply to my e mail if you have any incite on this issue.  <A

href="mailto:bon-@egilson.com">bon-@egilson.com</A></FONT></DIV></BODY></HTML>



------=_NextPart_000_002F_01C3D522.263B7120--