RE: Selling concerns - scam.

Martin Baker

2004-01-07



Yes, I second Chris's opinion - this is definitely a scam. Basically, they

send you a cashiers check that you deposit, then you wire the balance of the

funds to a third party. A couple of days later the bank calls to say the

check was bogus and they have retrieved the funds from your account. But

you've already sent the balance to the "shipper" and you can't get it back.

This one is pretty common.



Martin Baker





 From: Chris Brandt <chris_br-@hotmail.com>

Reply-To: chris_br-@hotmail.com

To: ob-@topica.com

Subject: RE: [OBRA Chat] Selling concerns - scam.

Date: Wed, 7 Jan 2004 21:46:51 +0000



There are two SCAM warnings related to this subject on the www.MTBR.com

website. They are located at the top of the page, when you click on the

"classifieds" link.



This is most likely a scam, and these people pretty much target anyone

who posts a for sale add on a web site. I've been approached the same

way. Just think of how many sites there are out there with classifieds.

There's always a chance that someone will fall for it, but don't let it

be you. You can generally filter out the legitimate buyers pretty easily

from the scammers with a quick follow up email. But that doesn't mean

you won't still have to deal with countless "maybe" buyers.



Good luck selling.

Chris



Bonnie Heather Egilson wrote:

 Has anyone out there ever sold a bike to someone overseas??



To respond to the whole group send to ob-@topica.com.

To respond to the list manager send to ob-@teleport.com

To unsubscribe send to obra-uns-@topica.com



_________________________________________________________________

Working moms: Find helpful tips here on managing kids, home, work ? and

yourself.   http://special.msn.com/msnbc/workingmom.armx



Chris Brandt

2004-01-07



There are two SCAM warnings related to this subject on the www.MTBR.com

website. They are located at the top of the page, when you click on the

"classifieds" link.



This is most likely a scam, and these people pretty much target anyone

who posts a for sale add on a web site. I've been approached the same

way. Just think of how many sites there are out there with classifieds.

There's always a chance that someone will fall for it, but don't let it

be you. You can generally filter out the legitimate buyers pretty easily

from the scammers with a quick follow up email. But that doesn't mean

you won't still have to deal with countless "maybe" buyers.



Good luck selling.

Chris



Bonnie Heather Egilson wrote:

 Has anyone out there ever sold a bike to someone overseas??