mike.m-@obra.org
This is a classic Internet scam. Generally the seller overpays and wants
you to refund the balance to him. The cashier's check ends up being bogus.
It is easy to think that the check is OK because of the amount of time it
may take to clear. The mere fact that your account gets credited is NOT
evidence that the check has cleared. You are out the difference and your
bike, or what ever, is gone. Be very suspect of any such transaction. Do
not do anything until you have hard cash in hand. Never send them any of
your money.
Here are some links. There are lots of examples:
http://www.waypointbank.com/about_waypoint/protect_yourself_from_internet_sc
ams.php
http://www.dropbears.com/bikelinks/africa_scam.htm
http://www.wpbpolice.org/scam-nigeria-newtwist.php
http://www.ama-cycle.org/news/2003/scams.asp
http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/low/uk_news/scotland/3071895.stm
Mike Murray
-----Original Message-----
From: Bonnie Heather Egilson [mailto:bon.-@verizon.net]
Sent: Wednesday, January 07, 2004 13:29 PM
To: Obra
Subject: [OBRA Chat] Selling concerns
Has anyone out there ever sold a bike to someone overseas?? I have my bike
posted on a couple of websites like www.mtbreview.com www.pinkbike.com and
www.nsmb.com ,anyway the responses I have gotten are all from other
countries. One from Germany, one from South Africa and the most serious one
from France. This guy is a used bike and accessory dealer. The problem is
that although I am asking $1300 for the bike (Rocky Mountain Element TO) the
guy wants to send a cashier's check for $7,000 and wants me to do a western
union thing to the shipper for the remaining monies. To me this doesn't
sound legal?? Weird to say the least and how and what hoops must one go
through to send a bike to France.? You can reply to my e mail if you have
any incite on this issue. bon-@egilson.com
To respond to the whole group send to ob-@topica.com.
To respond to the list manager send to ob-@teleport.com
To unsubscribe send to obra-uns-@topica.com